Knowledgebase: Personal Information

How is personal information collected and stored?

At signup, only an username and password (for authentication) and an email address (for important notices about your account and customer support) will be required and stored. (the password is securely hashed, and only the result is stored)
To create an instance (or more generally, if we know we'll have to send you invoices), you will be required to fill in your full legal name that will be used exclusively for payment and invoicing.

All payments are stored along with a way to identify its source, which is a transaction ID for PayPal or Stripe. You may link your credit card, in which case we will only store an identifier for the card, the actual credit card information being held safely by Stripe.

All this information is used exclusively by MaaStodon and will not be shared with a third party without authorization from the account owner. As detailed by the terms of service, instance data will also be kept confidential, unless requested by the account owner. Instances are regularly copied for backup purposes.

To monitor user activity, we will store the last successful login date and the account creation dateSupport tickets will be stored so they can be read by our staff, and used as internal knowledge base.

Statistics from the hosted instances will be regularly collected for billing purposes and published for general interest: local and total count of users and statuses, peered instances, stored media total size and count.

This website is hosted in France; Instances are hosted in the country indicated by the region, only France at the moment. Backups are stored in France as well. In the default configuration, instances use Mailgun to send e-mail.

Most information mentioned here is visible and modifiable in your account settings, anything else may be requested by contacting our support.
Instances can be fully exported through an automated process, and restored using freely available tools.

Account can be disabled on demand which will only leave the username, payment history, support tickets, and instances.
30 days after instance cancellation, instances will be deleted from our production servers. Backup archives may be kept for up to a year after deletion.